What does vinegar do to rust?

In a chemical reaction known as neutralization, iron oxide (also known as rust) when washed with vinegar leaves behind a water-soluble salt that can be easily removed

---

White vinegar is acidic & dissolves rust. Larger amounts of rust can take 1-3 days to dissolve.