How long does appendicitis last?

Chronic appendicitis has mild symptoms that last for a long time and can come and go. It continues this way for several weeks, months, or years. Acute appendicitis has severe symptoms that appear suddenly within 24 to 48 hours . If not treated it can burst (rupture) and this is a medical emergency.