How many times did it take thomas edison to invent the light bulb?

It took Thomas Edison over 1,000 unsuccessful attempts to create a working light bulb. When a reporter asked, "How did it feel to fail 1,000 times?" Edison replied, "I didn’t fail 1,000 times. The light bulb was an invention with 1,000 steps."