Who is enoch thompson?

Enoch Malachi "Nucky" Thompson, Sr., played by Steve Buscemi, is the protagonist of the series Boardwalk Empire. He is loosely based on the real New Jersey crime boss and politician Enoch L. Johnson (1883-1968), who was in control of Atlantic City for two decades, between 1911 and 1931.