Why is coffee called a cup of joe?

It is said to be named after the Secretary of the US Navy, Admiral Josephus "Joe" Daniels who abolished wine on Navy ships. Sailors then resorted to drinking coffee and referring to coffee as a cup of joe.

---

Three ideas: 1. Secretary of the Navy in 1913, Josephus "Joe" Daniels, prohibited alcohol at sea leading to more coffee consumption. 2. It’s a shortened version of two other slang terms for coffee: java and jamoke. 3. Coffee is considered “a common man” drink and Joe is “a common man” name.