Where is the country of new guinea?

The Island of New Guinea is located between the Coral Sea and the South Pacific Ocean. The country of Papua New Guinea is made up of the eastern half of the Island and some neighbouring islands. It is surrounded by protected coral reefs and has many active volcanoes and the New Guinea Highlands.