How long has life been on earth?

3.5 billion years

---

Earth is about 4.5 billion years old, but life did not exist on this planet until about 2 billion years ago, when certain kinds of bacteria & algae began to appear. Land plants did not appear until about 430 million years ago; reptiles, 300 million years ago; & modern mammals, 75 million years ago.