Why are they called belgian waffles?

These waffles were introduced by Maurice Vermersch of Brussels, Belgium. Largely based on a simplified recipe for the Brussels waffles, Vermersch decided to change the name to the Bel-Gem Waffle upon observing that many Americans could not correctly identify Brussels as the capital of Belgium.