What's the difference between a water chestnut and a chestnut?

Tree chestnuts belong to the beech tree family which are forest trees and shrubs. The chestnuts are shiny brown nuts that develop from catkin-like flowers. ... Water chestnuts are underground stem enlargements called corms or tubers, and the plants have to be dug up to harvest the corms.