When did they start counting years?

The Sumerian Calendar is the oldest recorded calendar that counted years, months and days. It was invented by the Sumerians in the area of the Persian Gulf, about 2100 BC, over 4,000 years ago during the Bronze Age. It is probable that humans tracked years before that, but no record has been found.