How long does it take fescue grass to grow?

When planted in the fall, tall fescue typically germinates in four to 14 days. Many factors affect the speed of germination, including soil pH, temperature and the watering schedule. Tall fescue grows best in soil with a pH of 5.8 to 6.5, but it can tolerate soil pH levels of 4.7 to 8.5.