What's the difference between england and u. k.?

England is part of the United Kingdom, but the United Kingdom is made of more than just England. The UK is made up of mainland Great Britain (England, Wales and Scotland) and the northern part of the island of Ireland (Northern Ireland). It also has numerous smaller islands.