Is the letter y. a vowel?

Y is considered to be a vowel if it forms a diphthong—two vowel sounds joined in one syllable to form one speech sound, such as the "oy" in toy, "ay" in day, and "ey" in monkey. It is a consonant when it starts off a word or syllable, as in yard, lawyer, or beyond.