Is the squash a fruit or vegetable?

Since squash contains seeds and develops from the flower-producing part of a plant, it is botanically a fruit. Vegetables are a plant’s roots, stems or leaves. Other fruits which are frequently thought of as vegetables, but are not vegetables, include tomatoes, eggplants, avocados and cucumbers