Why is coffee cake called coffee cake?

Traditionally, small cakes and cookies were served with mid-morning or late afternoon tea as a snack to tide one over until later meals were served. Over time, these cakes became known as tea-cakes. When coffee began replacing tea as drink of choice, these same cakes became known as coffee cakes.

---

Coffee cake is called coffee cake because it's the perfect complement to a cup of coffee or a foamy latte. Not because it has coffee