Do wild cats purr?

While cheetahs and cougars are large cats, they are not scientifically classified as big cats because of their hyoid bones. They are the largest of the small cats that can purr. Purring and roaring are mutually exclusive, so lions, tigers, leopards and jaguars are all incapable of purring.