Is prosecco similar to champagne?

While both are sparkling wines, Champagne and Prosecco use different grapes and different methods of fermenting, so there is a difference in taste. The primary flavors of Champagne are almond, citrus, peach, toast and white cherry. Prosecco tends to be sweeter and fruitier.