Where did the term kit and caboodle come from?

It commonly turns up in the whole caboodle, meaning “the whole lot”. It's recorded in the US from the middle of the nineteenth century. It's probable that the word was originally boodle, with the phrase being the whole kit and boodle, but that the initial sound “k” was added to boodle for euphony.