What is the first tablet?

First came the Linus Write-Top in 1987. The is one of the first handwriting-recognition tablets. Using it's stylus, you could write on the screen. In 1989, Jeff Hawkins created the GridPad. Some call this the first tablet computer. It ran MS-DOS but consumers mostly ignored it.