Why do sharks only swim in salt water?

Most sharks cannot regulate their internal blood salinity so avoid spending time in fresh water. An exceptions is the Bull Shark has no problem in freshwater and can be found miles inland in freshwater rivers. Brisbane’s Carbrook Golf Club, Australia has a pond with Bull Sharks after a flood.