How do you cut a green onion?

Rinse onions under cool tap water and remove any wilted or damaged tops or slimy skins on the white parts. Trim off the stringy root ends by slicing about a quarter inch above the roots. Discard the roots. Trim about 2 inches from the green tops. Discard the trimmed tops. Cut to your desired size.