How do you cut a green onion?

Rinse onions with cool water and remove any damaged parts. Place onions on a cutting board and trim off the stringy ends by slicing one fourth of an inch above the roots. Trim onions about 2 inches from the top.

---

Rinse onions them under cool tap water and remove any wilted, damaged tops or slimy skins on the white parts. Lay several onions on a cutting board. Using a chef's knife, trim off the stringy root ends by slicing about one fourth inch above the roots. Trim about 2 inches from the green tops.

---

Rinse onions under cool tap water and remove any wilted or damaged tops or slimy skins on the white parts. Trim off the stringy root ends by slicing about a quarter inch above the roots. Discard the roots. Trim about 2 inches from the green tops. Discard the trimmed tops. Cut to your desired size.