What's the difference between sardines and anchovies?

Sardines and anchovies are small varieties of oily fish. Due to their similar size and culinary uses, they're often confused with each other, but they're not the same. Anchovies are slightly smaller in size and have dark, reddish-grey flesh. Sardines are larger with white flesh.