Does candle wax evaporate?

Yes. When you light the candle, the solid wax melts and liquid wax is drawn up the wick. As the candle gets hotter, the liquid wax evaporates into a gas. This gaseous wax burns in the oxygen of the air. The gaseous wax remains in the air after you blow out the candle.