How many strings are on a viola?

The viola, larger cousin to the violin, has 4 strings, similar to the violin. It shares 3 strings with the violin, the A, D, and G strings. The fourth and lowest string on the viola is the C string. The larger size gives the viola a deeper, darker and richer tone than the violin's brilliant sound.