How did the moon become the moon?

The prevailing theory supported by the scientific community, the giant impact hypothesis suggests that the moon formed when an object smashed into early Earth. Like the other planets, Earth formed from the leftover cloud of dust and gas orbiting the young sun.

---

It is thought that the moon was formed 4.5 billion years ago when a small planetoid, about the size of Mars, collided with the Earth. Parts of the Earth and the incoming planetoid, named Theia, coalesced in orbit of the Earth to form our Moon.