What does aquifier mean?

a body of permeable rock which can contain or transmit groundwater.

---

An aquifer is a body of rock and/or sediment that holds groundwater. ... Confined aquifers have a layer of impenetrable rock or clay above them, while unconfined aquifers lie below a permeable layer of soil.