What happened to the great sphinx nose?

The historian al-Maqrīzī wrote in the 15th century that the nose was actually destroyed in 1378 CE by Muhammad Sa'im al-Dahr out of anger when Egyptian peasants made offerings to the Great Sphinx in the hope of controlling the flood cycle. Whether this is absolute fact is still debatable.