What's a short cell?

Short selling occurs when an investor borrows a security and sells it on the open market,planning to buy it back later for less money. Short sellers bet on,and profit from, a drop in a security's price.Short selling has a high risk/reward ratio: . But losses can mount quickly and infinitely.