What does b. a. u. stand for in criminal minds?

When you're talking crime, you're talking Behavioral Analysis Unit. The Behavioral Analysis Unit (BAU) is a department of the Federal Bureau of Investigation's National Center for the Analysis of Violent Crime (NCAVC) that uses behavioral analysts to assist in criminal investigations.