How long does it take to cook a three pound prime rib?

It depends on the desired level of doneness. Start by cooking your prime rib at 500°F for 15 minutes and then lower the oven temperature to 325° F and cook for 10-12 min per pound for rare,13-14 min per pound for medium rare, or 14-15 min per pound for medium well.