Does tart cherry juice help you sleep?

Unsweetened tart cherry juice may be a safe and effective way to help you sleep. Tart cherries are naturally rich in melatonin, a hormone responsible for sleepiness. They also contain tryptophan and anthocyanins, two compounds that may help the body create melatonin and lengthen its effects.