How do you grow an avocado from an avocado seed?

Once you've finished your avocado, wash and dry the pit. Fill a jar with water, almost to the brim. ( ... Locate the broad end of the pit. ... Press three toothpicks around the pit. ... Place the jar in a warm, sunny spot, but out of direct sunlight. ... Replenish water as needed.