What is the safest state in the world?

Minnesota was ranked the safest state in 2019, while Iceland was ranked the safest country in the world in 2019.

---

Maine ranks first for Personal & Residential Safety, Road Safety, and Emergency Preparedness. Maine has the lowest number of assaults per capita of any state in the U.S. Maine has the lowest violent crime rate overall than any other state and has the fourth-lowest property crime rate as well.