How much is three of a kind in crib?

In cribbage, 3-of-a-kind is usually 6 points. You get 2 points for the 15, if it"s 3 fives. The 6 points come from the 3 unique pairs within a set of 3. The points apply when counting your hand, or during pegging, as the hand is played (the last 3 cards played since the last count to 31).