What does it mean to throw your back out?

The idiom "throwing out your back" generally means you have temporarily pulled or sprained a muscle in your back, often in the lumbar region. There are numerous ways in which you can throw your back out, including: Twisting your back. Lifting heavy objects. Over-extension while stretching.