What is a. t. f.?

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (or ATF) is a law enforcement agency in the United States Department of Justice concerned with the trafficking of firearms, storage of explosives, acts of arson and bombings, acts of terrorism, and illegal diversion of alcohol and tobacco items.