Why is it called white noise?

White noise is so named because it's analogous to white light, which is a mixture of all visible wavelengths of light. Since it includes all audible frequencies, white noise is often used to mask other sounds.

---

White noise draws its name from white light. Similar to the way white light is a mixture of all visible wavelengths, white noise is a mixture of all audible frequencies.