Is there a substitute for sweetened condensed milk?

Substitute evaporated milk for sweetened condensed milk, as they are very similar, and add just a bit more sugar to compensate for its lack of sweetness. Alternatively, you can simmer and reduce full-fat coconut milk for 30 minutes with 1/4 cup of sugar to make a substitute, stirring frequently.