What is a spruce goose?

The Spruce Goose, is a giant wooden aircraft, also known as the Hughes Flying Boat, and flew just once on November 2, 1947. The Spruce Goose held the title of the largest plane ever built until 2019. The Spruce Goose resides at the Evergreen Aviation & Space Museum in McMinnville, OR.