Do snakes go underground?

Snakes travel along the ground, up trees, through water and underground. Although some snakes burrow, most do not and are just traveling through existing holes that were created by chipmunks, mice and other small mammals. Snakes hibernate in these burrows as well as in rock crevices and hollows.