Where did three sheets to the wind originate?

It is from sailing. A sheet in the wind is a sail that is set to back-fill in stormy conditions when the helm is lashed to try to stabilize the ship. Three sheets set to the wind would mean a hurricane; the ship would sit sideways and roll wildly from side to side possibly capsizing.