What is a dime defense in football?

A dime defense in football typically means a defensive formation containing 6 defensive backs to defend a likely pass. The term dime comes after a nickel defense containing 5 defensive backs, so bringing in two 2 additional defensive backs for a total of six would be 2 nickels or a dime.