How many days after the expiration date can you drink milk?

You could theoretically freeze your milk for up to three months, but it'll turn lumpy and yellow and yucky looking (though it's still safe to drink).The accepted rule of thumb is that if you're properly refrigerating it, your carton of whole milk's expiration date is 5 days after the "sell-by" date.