How do you use a pizza stone in the oven?

Unless the recipe states otherwise, put the stone on the oven rack and let it heat about an hour. Set the pizza or baguettes directly on the stone. Remove the food when it's done with a pizza peel. It usually is easier to remove if the food is on a sheet of parchment.