Is b. e. a. l. a word?

beal is a word that means to become infected, or to swell.

---

Yes, "beal," spelled B-E-A-L, is an actual English word, though with limited scope of usage. As a medical term, it means to swell or become infected. It's also an archaic UK slang term for a bellow or roar.