Who were the bourgeoisie?

The term bourgeoisie, refers to the social order that is dominated by the so-called middle class. Historically, the medieval French word bourgeois denoted the inhabitants of the bourgs—the craftsmen, artisans, merchants, and others, who constituted "the bourgeoisie".