How do you get sugarcane in animal crossing?

Sugarcane starts can be bought from Leif for 280 Bells or purchased as a pack of 5 for 1,400 Bells (there's no saving, FYI). This can be bought from him either when he visits your island, or from his shop on Harv's island once you've bought his shop.