What color is a deer tick?

The deer tick, sometimes known as the black-legged tick, is a small, dark brown and black colored tick that usually only reaches 3 millimeters in size in adulthood. Deer ticks have eight dark legs, a dark head and a dark spot behind their head, called a dorsal shield.