How long does it take for cool whip to thaw?

Thaw Cool Whip unopened in the refrigerator, for at least 3.5 hours for the four ounce container, and at least six hours for the eight and 12 ounce containers, and seven hours or overnight for the 16 ounce container. Defrosting Cool Whip in the microwave is not recommended.