How long was blackbeard a pirate?

Years active; 1716 - 1718. Although his career lasted only a few years, and he failed to accumulate much in the way of treasure, he and his men boarded many ships, and, in an audacious move, their mini pirate armada blockaded the city of Charleston for nearly a week.